What to do around ?

We are located at the border between the 3 regions of the Landes, the Béarn and the Basque country.  

 

You can find around the Saint Martin castle a vast variety of activities in a close perimeter. You can spend your days at the beach of the Atlantic Ocean, in the mountains of the Pyrenees or visiting a market in a Béarn village or in the Basque country or even participate in a corrida during the summer.

The Ocean and Beach

The closest beaches are the ones from Hossegor and Capbreton. The Atlantic Ocean is located at around 40 minutes car drive. You can therefore easily go there and relax or go for surfing.  

Dax and its sources

Dax form the main thermal destination in France.  The thermal station of Dax is specialised in rheumatology and since some years also proposes a solution for those who suffer from fibromyalgia.

Bayonne

Bayonne, capital city of the Oays Basque, is located at around 40 minutes from Pouillon. Accommodating, with a human touch and cosy, we felt in love with this town where we let us drift through the small pedestrian streets full of shops and Basque restaurant where you can find excellent food.

The markets

There are several markets, each day of the week  around Pouillon where you can buy some local products and specialities

The Pyrennées

We are located closely to the Pyrenees. The first villages and mountains of the Pyrenees can be reached in a bit more than an hour drive. There are a lot of excursions that we can recommend. Do not hesitate to ask us further advice as we are fans of the mountains:

Walks and bicycle rides

Several hiking trails have been indicated by the commune, the department and the region. We have at your disposal brochures, maps and explanations if you want to explore the region on footh or by bicycle. 

Biarritz

Biarritz is located less than an hour from our place. We are not going to present you this town in detail, which is most known for its beaches ideal for surfing. A must-go during your stay with us. Its aquarium is very interesting, and you will find out new things there.

Horse riding

If you are interested, we can recommend you centres specialised in horse rides where we have contacts with to take the whole family or your kids on a horse or pony ride.

Salies-de-Béarn

The thermal spring facilities of Salies-de-Béarn dispose of more than 150 years of experience. The unique mineralisation provides the basis of medical facilities to help against and prevent rheumatology, gynaecological problems and woman’s sterility.

Nautical activities

We are surrounded by rivers such as the “Adour”, the “gave de Pau” and the “gave d’Oloron” in which you can swim. You can also rent kayaks at the Abbey Sorde (Sorde l’Abbaye) to go down le gave d’Oloron.

San Sebastian

And if you want to go a bit further, you can also discover in a bit more than an hour, San Sébastien in Spain, which is a town open to the sea. As soon as you arrive in that town, you will feel that you are in a foreign country with a different atmosphere. Among others, you can enjoy beaches, shopping and tapas.

The small farm of Pouillon

In the commune of Pouillon, a pedagogical centre of 4 hectares can be found which is open during the whole year and allows your kids (and the adults too!) to find out about the animals of our regions in a very nice set-up where you can take your time to touch, feed and observe the animals. We recommend you this visit if you travel with kids of whatever age. 

  • Black TripAdvisor Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Que faire aux alentours?

Nous sommes aux confins des Landes, du Pays Basque et du Béarn. 

 

Il y a donc autour du Château Saint Martin une foule d’activités variées dans une rayon relativement proches. Vous pourrez ainsi passer de la plage au bord de l’Océan Atlantique, aux montagnes des Pyrénées en faisant un marché dans un village du Béarn ou du Pays Basque ou en assistant à une corrida durant l’été. 

L'Océan et ses plages

 L’Océan Atlantique et ses belles plages se situe à une quarantaine de minutes. Faire du surf à Biarritz ou aller acheter son poisson à la criée de Capbreton, rien de plus facile et d'agréable.

Dax et ses thermes

Dax constitue la première destination thermale de France. Venez profiter des bienfaits des eaux thermales et de la boue thermale locale. Les thermes de Dax sont spécialisés en rhumatologie et phlébologie.

Bayonne

Bayonne est située à une quarantaine de minutes de Pouillon. Accueillante, à taille humaine et chaleureuse, nous sommes tombés amoureux de cette ville dont nous ne nous lassons pas de parcourir les petites rues piétonnes bordées de boutiques de créateurs et de restaurants basques où l'on mange divinement bien.

Les marchés

Nous avons, aux alentours, de nombreux marchés aux couleurs locales où vous pourrez achetés tout ce qui garnira votre table

Les Pyrennées

Les belles montagnes des Pyrennées se situent à une bonne heure de Pouillon. De nombreuses excursions sont accessibles : gorges, petit train à  crémaillère, grottes, superbes lacs de montagne, ...

Balades à pied ou à vélo

Nous sommes entourés de chemins pédestres et de petites routes qui feront le bonheur des cyclistes. Une série de guides de ces promenades sont à votre disposition.

Biarritz

Biarritz est également à moins d’une heure de chez nous. Nous ne présentons plus cette ville balnéaire connue pour ses plages de surf. Certainement à visiter lors de votre séjour chez nous. Son aquarium est vraiment très intéressant, vous y ferez des découvertes.

Equitation

Si vous le désirez, nous pourrons vous conseiller des centres équestres avec lesquels nous travaillons pour emmener la famille ou vos enfants faire des balades en cheval ou en poney.

Salies-de-Béarn

Les Thermes de Salies-de-Béarn disposent d'un savoir-faire unique depuis plus de 150 ans. Les eaux de Salies-de-Béarn des propriétés médicinales pour la rhumatologie, la gynécologie et stérilité féminine et les troubles du développement de l’enfant. 

Activités nautiques

Il y a plusieurs activités nautiques dans nos alentours sur des lacs ou des rivières telles que l’Adour, le gave de Pau et le gave d’Oloron. Il est possible de faire du kayak au départ de Sorde-l'Abbaye.

San Sebastian

Et si vous avez envie de vous dépayser, vous pourrez également découvrir à une peu plus d’une heure en voiture, San Sébastien, en Espagne qui est une ville ouverte sur la mer. Dès l’arrivée en ville, vous vous sentez dans une toute autre ambiance. Plage, shopping et tapas au programme.

La petite ferme de Pouillon

Il y a sur Pouillon une ferme pédagogique de 4 hectares ouvertes toute l’année et qui permet à vos enfants (et aux grands aussi!), de découvrir tous les animaux de nos régions dans un environnement très agréable où vous pourrez prendre le temps de toucher les animaux, de les nourrir et de les observer. Nous vous conseillons cette visite si vous êtes avec des enfants de tout âge.

  • Black TripAdvisor Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon